Sunday, December 5, 2010

I Shall Wear Midnight

I Shall Wear Midnight is the fourth book by Mr Sir Terry Pratchett featuring young witch Tiffany Aching.

I'm still slowly but surely working my way through the Discworld novels, and before this one, I hadn't encountered Miss Aching before, but I will certainly be looking up the rest of the novels featuring the redoubtable young witch.

I Shall Wear Midnight is set on the Chalk, and Tiffany is the resident witch for the area. She deals with common ailments, illnesses - and the Wee Free Men - the Nac Mac Feegle - as best as she can. Because she's the witch.

After the death of the old Baron - which Tiffany finds herself accused of causing - she travels to Ankh-Morpork to bring back the new Baron - an old childhood friend.

Things for Tiffany are relatively straightforward on the Chalk - she's the witch, which means she has a certain position to maintain.

However, something is coming for the witches ...

Mr Sir Terry Pratchett has a very deft touch, and he weaves together elements like the sheer absurdity of the Nac Mac Feegle and the darker elements so well that there's nothing jarring in it at all. Tiffany is a wonderfully realised character, and now I need to seek out the rest of her books.

10/10 Could not be improved on, even by angel dust and a basket of kittens


Ana S. said...

yay, you loved it! Like there was any way you wouldn't, lol :P Also, do read the other Tiffany Aching books ASAP! They're if possible even MORE awesome.

Maree said...

I totally loved it!!! And the other Tiffany Aching books are on my list for sure :)

Aarti said...

Oh, glad you liked it! I still have the third in this series to read, and then I'll be jumping all over this one. I enjoy Tiffany Aching but I would love to see more of Susan in the Discworld series, personally :-)